I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2006 (SECOND) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 126

Introduced by:

L. F. Kasperbauer
Ray Tenorio
Mike Cruz
F. B. Aguon, Jr.
J. M.S. Brown
Edward J.B. Calvo
B. J.F. Cruz
Mark Forbes
R. Klitzkie
L. A. Leon Guerrero
J. A. Lujan
A. B. Palacios
R. J. Respicio
A. R. Unpingco
J. T. Won Pat

Relative to observing the University of Guam's Charter Day Celebration and to commending the UOG president, faculty, staff, students and Board of Regents and the 2006 Charter Day Committee for their work in continuing the traditional celebration of this auspicious and historic event.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I

- 2 MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
- 3 WHEREAS, on March 14, 2006, the University of Guam ("the
- 4 University"), a land grant institution, will observe its Charter Day, marking its
- 5 founding; and

WHEREAS, Harold L. Allen, Ph.D., President of the University, 1 2 appointed the 2006 Charter Day Committee to organize this year's activities, 3 whose membership includes: Pedro R. Martinez, Chairman; Kimberly N. Ada; 4 Pacita "Patty" Aguon; Joanie Barcinas; Peter R. Barcinas; Christopher F. 5 Bejado; Joseph M.U. Blas; June L.G. Calvo; Victor P. Camacho; Ric R. Castro; Dolores "Loling" Cepeda; Daisy Cruz; Nancy U. Cueto; Sahara J. Defensor; 6 7 Swingly Dismas; Mark A. Duarte; Pamela Eastlick; Joseph Fernandez; Frances "Fran" A. Guerrero; Gerard "Gerry" Guerrero; Susan Kuartei; Brenda C. Leon 8 9 Guererro; Michele O. Limtiaco; Christine M.K. Mabayag; Dr. Ronald L. 10 McNinch-Su; Cathleen Moore-Linn; Leah-Beth Naholowaa; Joaquin "Kin" 11 Ninete; Peter R. Onedera; Doreen F. Pangelinan; Julie J. Pangelinan; John B. Perez; Dallas Pocaigue; Connie M.C. Quinata; Tom Quinata; Therese P. 12 Roberto; Jesse B. Rosario; Diana R. Sablan; Janet L.B. San Nicolas; Joey M. 13 Santos; Jesse A. Tedpahogo; Kristina Louise C. Torres; Louise Toves; Darlene 14 15 "Seven" Vigil; Suzanne de C. Wilkins; and Monica Wintterle; and 16 WHEREAS, the Territorial College of Guam, which was founded in 17 1952, offering limited classes at the old George Washington High School 18 campus in Mongmong, developed from a two (2) year teacher training institution to a Land Grant University that offers a full range of 19 20 undergraduate programs and graduate studies, relocated to its present one 21 hundred (100) acre campus over-looking Pago Bay in Mangilao in 1961; and WHEREAS, the Territorial College of Guam was renamed the 22 "University of Guam" by the ninth (9th) Guam Legislature after being 23 accredited for the maximum period by the Western Association of Schools 24 and Colleges ("WASC") in 1968; and 25

WHEREAS, the University of Guam's first Charter Day was proclaimed on December 17, 1968, by the Honorable Governor Manuel F.L. Guerrero through Executive Order 74-09; and
WHEREAS, while the University pursues its mission of providing resident instruction and research to the people of Guam, it also provides our neighbors throughout Micronesia the opportunity to achieve higher education; and

WHEREAS, the University of Guam, in its quest to maintain its tradition of excellence, continues to contribute to the Island's social, cultural, political and economic advancement; and

WHEREAS, the theme for this year "Inina yan Sinaonao: Lini'e Todu I Tano'", ("To Enlighten and Involve: Global Perspectives") reflects the vision and revised mission of the University's governing Board of Regents and the President to provide higher education and opportunities for the people of Guam, the islands of the Western Pacific, and the Asian Pacific Rim nations; and

WHEREAS, the 2006 Charter Day activities will showcase Guam's cultural, social, educational and recreational activities by inviting the People of Guam, to visit the Mangilao campus during the week and share in these experiences; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislative attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Ms. Sahara Defensor, President, UOG Student Government Association; to Dr. Harold L.

- 1 Allen, President of the University; to Mr. Ronald Leach, Chairman of the UOG
- 2 Board of Regents; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga Lahen
- 3 Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 8^{TH} DAY OF FEBRUARY 2006.

MARK FORBES

Speaker and

Chairman, Executive Committee

EDWARD J.B. CALVO

Senator and

Secretary of the Legislature